top of page
  • patrickkiennguyen

Entry 1: Thoughts After Further Research

16/11/2021 My initial thoughts for a game idea while conducting my research was a game where you play as a character that utilised mechanics based on the four fundamental forces to move tiles of the shattered Earth to restore it. During my research I had a discussion with James on where it is leading. To briefly summarise James didn't believe my research was a good match for what I wanted to do which was make character design. This had me stuck for a bit but I decided to press on as presentations day was a few days away at the time.


After my presentations on my further research on astronomy these were my classmates thoughts. A lot of them suggest a universe/ solar system type sandbox games. This was not something that appealed to me. I personally felt that the idea was lacklustre. Perhaps it would make a good educational tool to teach people on how stars and planets are formed. However, I was looking to try and portray either a fun or exciting experience. Although, those notions are subjective.


The next idea, was more along the idea of humanity creating an android or something that will contain their "legacy" and send it out into space as the Earth meets its end. The idea behind this was born out of the combination of the research of the Voyager and Orbital Reflector and my knowledge of the story behind Neir Automata. This idea was a complex in terms of the narrative and Adam feared that it wouldn't be logistically feasible. To which I agree would be a difficult undertaking.


Leaning into the idea of creating character I've decided to continue on with character designs based on satellites or space equipment sent off into space. I decided with the approach of character design because:

  1. It's what I want to do- Character designs, Illustration & Concept Art

  2. I was getting bored of doing research.

  3. I wasn't effectively generating ideas- I was just collecting facts.

  4. Mechanics or abilities can derived from designs.

  5. Story can be made around characters. A game can be made around a story.

This was an approach encouraged by Adam after my presentations and my initial draft design of a character I presented in my presentations.


One to One - Adam:

Suggested to look at:

  1. Time delayed based games

  2. Exploration games, Fire Watch

  3. Text based games

With the nature of how satellite or instruments we communicate to out in space works, Adam suggested controlling the android characters through lines of text to mimic how scientists don't have direct control over a device out in space. And an image of the game can be sent to the player after a short delayed. While I admit the idea has is an interesting one which best reflects the nature of how we interact with space. I fear that the gameplay or game loop may not be able to hold the player's attention or interest.

Although, I agree with looking into other games that tackle the concept of exploration as it looks like my game idea is leaning towards that idea. I would ideally want to look at what core aspects makes them unique from one another and how I might approach mine as well. I'll start with ABZU as I have that game already so i can personally conduct some first hand research on that.


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page