top of page
  • patrickkiennguyen

Entry 21: Paper Prototype Real Life Bullet Hell

Making Paper Planes:

Using scrap paper (waste not) I made paper planes, a moth plane, to act as projectiles to use in a real-life experiment/ simulation of a bullet hell experience. I had also thought about using balloons but decided against it as they would be harder to dispose of (plastic/rubber) than paper. Using myself as a test subject & several assistances, here is a recorded session:

From point of angle, planes that flew straight was easier to predict than those that curved. Movements that I took to avoid the planes were:

  • Side steps for predictable ones.

  • Duck for fast & higher up planes.

  • Back step to afford more time to react.

Movement of Multiple Planes Stacked Together:



I noted that they either arched out in pattern or spread apart like shotgun pellets. This can help me model the movements of the projectiles in game.

This projectile movements reminds me of projectiles in maths-more specifically mechanic & a term called SUVAT. These are mathematical formulas that models the movement of a projectile object. This I can implement into Unity as code to affect the movement of the projectile.

Paper Planes Varying Style/ Speed:


I also experimented with different plane style and saw varying speed from the default moth plane and these two designs I experimented by hand. The wider plane is more stable then the thinner design although slower. I am also considering on using plane models as the projectile as the bullets to add a unique aesthetic to the game. I'm still unsure on how the projectiles might move in the game- whether it's straight on or curved.


From these prototypes/ research I have gain a better understanding of the potential experience of my game and knowledge to create the game.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page