top of page
  • patrickkiennguyen

Entry 12: Project Presentations & Decision

Presentation:

People Responses:


After the presentation and asking people directly what they thought of my game ideas and the general consensus was that my game ideas was vague and not defined enough. People was able to discern the mechanic and potentially abilities such as floating and flying from the character design.

After deliberating, I concluded my interest lays in character design and as much as I enjoyed my game idea and designs, I understood that the mechanics I had thought of wasn't compatible with one another (light manipulation/ flying). And as a result I only had a vague idea for a game.

My methodology of creating a character and building a game around them was partially effective. However, something I should have done whiles designing the characters or even before is come up with an essential experience and used that as a guiding compass. In hindsight, I was using my character design as a essential experience in a way, but I fail to reflect upon that while coming up with game idea which led to vague ideas.

My biggest failing I believe is my hyper fixation on my craft and the need to keeping going with an idea.

After a discussion, I decided to join Krissie and work on her game idea, Guardian of Limbo(working title). My reason for joining was:

  • I was interested in the game idea.

  • Missing skills set that I could provide was programming and character design.

  • Krissie and I have a good level of communication and expectation.

  • Krissie works in a slower methodical pace while I have a tendency to envision an end product and ways to break it down and make it which I believe Krissie can help balance me out.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page