top of page
  • patrickkiennguyen

Entry 6: Orbital Reflector Character Design 2


For the last week I had an idea stuck in my head for this one particular design which has been annoying and distracting. I've stated that I would move on after doing a few draft but I just can't get the idea out of my head. So, rather than trying to discard the idea I'll instead develop it.




Mood Board/ Reference Board:


These are reference videos/ images on Japanese clothing, the kimono and hakama.

Speed Paint:


With design 1 I wanted to try adding new blocks of colours as compared with the previous draft. I added a haori jacket to do so. With design 2 I was experimenting with colours But I felt like the colours was too saturated for the blues. I decided to try breaking up more blocks of colours so I experimented by adding in a hakama. A full outfit set with a kimono, hakama and a haori jackets was usually worn on formal occasion or by nobles or by the rich. I like the idea of a regal or soft looking posh design. The sword was inspired by the fact that the Orbital Reflector have a sword like shape and the guard is based off the satellite panels. The moon cycle design on the scabbard is meant to reflect the fact that booth the Moon and the Orbital Reflector reflects the light of the Sun at night.


I really liked the gliding/ flying mechanic or idea of an older design and I wanted to still retain that. To that end, I placed the haori jacket over the shoulder like a cape and is constantly floating via a high tech slim engine inbuilt into the jacket. Furthermore, I wanted the underside to contrast with the white kimono top to help with the silhouette. I included a red cloud with stars pattern underneath the haori as a representations of the night sky. I initially chose red to make the design pop. However, I think it might be a bit much and loses some of that cool regal feel slightly.

Here I was experimenting with colours to retain an overall cool/ colder feel to the character design whiles still having a good amount of contrast or highlights. I also added the glow of that high tech engine and what it looks like above design 1. The idea is that the engine is the circular pattern that's directly on the inside of the jacket as a part of the overall cloud patterns. That same design was also implemented as patterns on the front of the haori jacket as an extra bit of detail. The triangular reflective pattern was also extended to the hakama to add s bit more texture. After a few experiments, I feel like design 3 has just the right amount of balance in contrast.

A minor adjustment was to remove the blue from the gold circular pattern on front of the haori jacket as I thought it was too distracting and not subtle enough. In terms of eye colours it's going to be gold or yellow as to not add any new colours.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page